Banner

Banner

Saturday, 20 August 2016

NEW MUSIC: Murmur Tooth - The Room EP Review

The Room EP cover art


Berlin based Brit trio have just released a new EP, titled 'The Room', having only formed earlier this year by Leah Hinton (Guitars/Vocals) of innovative metal band, El Schlong. Again this isn't a standard rock sound, as they have blended grunge and pop to give them an unique edge, with a hint of grimy bleakness and a dash of beautiful lightness, to keep everyone happy or sad, whichever you prefer...

Opening song, 'Knees Are Clean' is a tense shiny grunge tune, and quickly asserts their unusual sound, making a good first impression, especially with varied vocals and dynamic melodic instruments with a gritty fuzzy feel.

The short creepy 'Bumps' sounds more downbeat and unhinged with memorable dark toned guitars, and again hard hitting vocal harmonies, and shows off their changeable mood swings.

'And I Wait' is a perfect balance of dark and light. It has drawn out effective vocals and one of the best stand out chorus's so far, along with driving rhythmic riffs and bass, and a stripped back breakdown, before kicking off again in a full happy grunge fashion.

To close is the lengthy 'Waste Away' which is alarming and alluring, created largely through the vocals and distorted guitars, as well as powerful build ups and yet more strong harmonies and beats. This is very well composed, like the previous offerings and adds extra depth with the use of effects. This makes a big impact and is memorable way to finish the EP, with lasting lingering effects, particularly with stark lyrics like, "The aching of bones and the smell of decay, wrap up warm or you'll never wake".

Their clever moulding of the sludgy gloomy side of grunge and more hopeful upbeat pop sounds works wonders, and makes for a compelling and refreshing listen throughout. You should happily sink your teeth into this!



Listen and download the EP for free here!  https://murmurtooth.bandcamp.com/releases




http://murmurtooth.com
https://www.facebook.com/murmurtooth
https://twitter.com/MurmurTooth
https://soundcloud.com/murmurtooth


Tuesday, 9 August 2016

Stencil Mag - Issue 38 - July/August 2016 - Feat Billy Talent, Breaking Benjamin, Atreyu & More!




Check out the latest packed issue of Stencil Mag! It includes my reviews of Chelsea Grin, Milestones and Hunter Dumped Us Here as well as some of my intros I done for the interviews, including Vanna, The Bouncing Souls and more! This issue actually contains more reviews than normal too, so make sure you have a read and discover some new music! Unfortunately I was busy, as went on holiday, so didn't manage to contribute as much as normally do!

See all my reviews here: https://issuu.com/stencilmag/docs/issue38/155

What are you waiting for check all this out & more!

 https://issuu.com/stencilmag/docs/issue38


Sunday, 7 August 2016

NEW MUSIC: Convey - 'Nothing But A Love Song' Single Review







Convey is an alternative post rock band based out of Los Angeles, CA, but originally from Boston who formed back in 2009, but have only just unveiled their first official release with single, 'Nothing But A Love Song'...luckily for us. They have a vast collection of influences helping them to create their own driving and fresh sound, including Muse, Tool, Deftones and Queens Of The Stone Age.

The long wait has paid off for the band, as this debut is extremely melodic, beautiful and powerful, with hard hitting vocals and bouncy groovy riffs, all wrapped up in perfect production and complimenting ambient and atmospheric tones throughout. They have hit the mark, as you are instantly hooked and captivated from the start to finish, with a song that the masses should 'love'.


Check out the single for yourself: https://soundcloud.com/convey/nothing-but-a-love-song







Fortunately we don't have to wait long to hear more from this exciting band, as they are releasing another single next month. So keep an eye out and visit their site for updates.




Monday, 1 August 2016

ARJUN - Gravity Album Review


Gravity cover art

Skilled Instrumental Act Impress With Moving Experimental Rock



This instrumental trio from New York made up of, Eddie Arjan Peters (Guitar), Lamar Myers (Drums) and Andre Lyles (Bass) have their own unique sound comprised of elements of rock, jazz and experimentalism, which they effortlessly inject with emotive and intelligible sounds. They are back with their new album, 'Gravity', which sees them again work with the revered producer, Scotty Hard (Bjork, Wu-Tang Clan, Arto Lindsay) with the follow up to their highly successful release, 'Core'. Here they continue to expand and build upon their previous releases, all acting as one big musical exploration. This time round, they are aiming bigger, by enlisting the help of a few guests...



To open we have, 'Prince', which is chilled, methodical and engulfed with style, including great bouncy riffs and rhythms making it very pleasing on the ears. Sit back and relax to their super classy vibes and impressive guitar work.

'Flutter' acts as an alarming filler before the first guest appearance from Jeff Coffin (Dave Matthews Band, Bela Fleck) comes in the form of 'Run', which again exhibits interesting rhythms and beats, all oozing with talent and melody, with divine positive sounds that keep you hooked, especially with addition of the beautiful flute work from Jeff, giving it an extra depth and complimenting the rest of the instruments wonderfully.

'Ascent' follows and features the second guest, Cory Henry who plays the organ , which again offers something different and exciting and demonstrates their brilliant craftsmanship further, without losing the focus and definition of all the elements. This is a very mellow lulling song which is perfect to unwind too.

'Crossroad' makes a natural progression and maintains the album's seamless quality whilst 'Endless Again' is their most diverse and experimental offering, especially through the beats and transitions, sounding like an epic improvised jam session. 'Blas' has a slightly darker heavier tone and more chaotic feel, with them letting lose, but in an organised structured manner.

Leaving the longest until last, with the title song, 'Gravity', which progresses and builds up joyfully and acts almost as a musical conversation which is bursting with creativity and is cleverly constructed thought out, including the delightful strings from guest Molly Cherryholmes.

The excellent resonance throughout the entire album speaks just as loud as words, if not better, managing to portray pure emotion and feeling which you get swept up in, taking you on a wonderful ride. They are doing the instrumental front extremely proud and this new release takes them to new dizzying heights of musical creativity and flair, showing yet again what truly skillful musicians they are. 








Website: http://arjunmusic.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ARJUNmusiclive
Twitter: https://twitter.com/arjunmusic

Sunday, 31 July 2016

Broken Glow Interview




Broken Glow on their sound: "It's meant to replicate some kind of astral projection or link to a higher consciousness." 




Looking for a new diverse rock band?! Broken Glow from Georgia, US fit the bill with their 'bluesy hard rock' that they have been delivering since 2008. So read on to find out about this exciting and deep band...




So first things first, how did you come up with your band name and what is the story behind it?


The name "Broken Glow" was stumbled upon as we pored through lyric sheets of bands we were influenced by. We'd had a hard time coming up with a name, and after trying strange brainstorming tactics, random word generators and everything else we could think of, we turned to Led Zeppelin and The Beatles for inspiration. The two words of our name are taken from songs by these artists.



Can you tell us a bit about your formation in 2008?



Our lineup has morphed quite a bit over the years, but the band's inception was the spring of 2008 when drummer Paul (drummer) reconnected with childhood friends Jon and Brenner (original singer and guitarist, respectively). They'd grown up together in Connecticut, and after college they found a shared affinity for rock music. After it was determined that another guitar would fill the sound out more fully, Jon contacted Garrett (guitar/vocals), whom he'd met at Ithaca College, to join the group. Garrett moved to Connecticut to join the group, which promptly wrote a full original set and recorded "Black" in the late months of that year. Currently Paul and Garrett remain from the original lineup, with Sara rocking bass since 2014.



You have a great rock sound citing some interesting and diverse influences from Pantera to South Park! How would you best describe your music?


It's always difficult to describe your own work, but we would definitely describe our sound as "bluesy hard rock." Obvious influences are the British bands of the late 60's and 70's (Cream, Zeppelin, Floyd, Sabbath, etc), as well as harder grunge and metal bands (Alice In Chains, System Of A Down, Metallica, Lamb Of God). Yet especially with our later material we have written more stylistic variation into our music, pulling from our other musical influences in the realms of blues, folk, funk, jazz, punk, and classical music.



Have you got any more bizarre influences you want to mention?



Dragons, Runestones, Alchemy...



I understand you have had a few line-up changes since starting out, how would you say this has effected the sound of the band and the dynamics over the years?



In the beginning we were all still trying to figure out how toppled together and cut our teeth. Alec was added on bass in 2009, and during that period we were closer to a Guns N Roses band with attitude and drive. After moving to Brooklyn in 2010 Alec parted with the band, with Andrew taking his spot. Andrew played in hardcore Brooklyn mothers Cousin Sleaze, and our sound began to take on a tighter edge. Jon left the band in 2011 to pursue his education, and Garrett taking over vocals brought more blues and folk influence to the forefront (heard on the 2011 recording"Watercolors"). Early 2012 saw the death of lead guitarist Brenner, whose direction handled the band from the beginning. The personal tragedy was staggering, and it led the band to separate for nearly a year.


Garrett moved down to Savannah, GA in late 2012 and after some months recruited Paul to join him in the Low Country. For a short time Paul and Garrett played as a 2-piece, rebuilding the sound and writing new material. This period was understandably more aggressive, moodier, and with Garrett assuming all guitar duties the melodic voice of the band morphed (heard on 2014's
 "Live Like An Animal"). The addition of Sara on bass in 2014 rounded the group out to its current power trio, and her vocal stylings unique harmonic sense brings a fullness to the sound that can be heard on our latest release, "Filament."


What has the response been to your new album, ‘Filament’. and how happy were you with the end result?



Response to "FIlament" has been great! Our local Savannah community has really embraced the group, and we've heard two tracks on the airwaves since the album's release in February. We're currently remixing the album, after which it will receive full distribution on iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, and all those fancy virtual palaces of modern culture.



How was the recording and writing process for the release?


Preparing and recording the album was a great time. This was to be our first full length album, and we wanted it to represent the various sides of our musical tastes and abilities, individually and as a group. The first 3 songs on the album are all old tunes dating from 2009 and before, but the following 6 tracks were written and rehearsed between April and August of 2015. We recorded over 3 days in August of that year onto reel to reel tape, with all three band members in a room playing together live. We're not particularly big fans of post-production chopping and editing, and wanted to get the truest sound of a band in a room as we could.


The album was mixed by friend and guest guitarist Chris Horton, who joined us on stage at the album's release party. His approach differed slightly from ours, and guitars were layered over the basic tracks after the fact, vocals re-recorded, etc. We are currently going back to the original tracks and stripping it back down to those bare bones.



What are some of your favourite songs from the album and why are they?



"Monk Mode" is definitely a stand-out track on the album. It's meditative, trance-like rhythm is all Sara, and the weaving vocal lines bring an eerie, ethereal element to the tune. It's meant to replicate some kind of astral projection or link to a higher consciousness, so the instrumental break in the middle sparkles through major chords, a welcome departure from the heavily minor-key tone of the song.


"Blue Dream" is a lot of fun to play, and its lyrical content speaks to an important element of our band. It talks of finding brotherhood and common ground between neighbours, and the idea of collaboration over competition is fundamental to our group. We also love "Well: because, come on, who doesn't love the blues?



What can attending fans expect from your shows?



A damn good time! Since we've been playing for 8 years, we've accumulated a lot of material and don't like to repeat ourselves. Listeners would certainly get samplings from our last 2 recordings, as well as a sprinkle of classic canon (we've covered everyone from Joni Mitchell to James Gang to Soundgarden to Otis Redding). We love when an audience interacts with us and try to keep it groovy.



What else have Broken Glow got planned for 2016?


We have multiple regional shows (Alabama, Georgia, the Carolinas), as well as a session to record a brand new single. We are working on a collaboration with local brewery Southbound Brewery (where we held our release show for "Filament") that involves a showcase of local blues musicians, and rumour has it that we will be turning it to 11 come Halloween...



Is there anything else you would like to share with us?


If you dig the music, let us know! We're just folks trying to live the dream, and would love to come to the UK. Cheers!




Thursday, 14 July 2016

Maxdmyz Interview - 'Tough Lift Music, Eminem, Creative Omnivores' & More!




Maxdmyz are a London metal quintet consisting of Twister (vocals), Roger (guitars), Jay (drums), A’Zedd (bass guitar) and Vortex (keyboards). They are known for their live performances and unique blend of metal. They are interesting chaps, which you will discover when you read on. Find out about them working with Eminem, their well received EP, 'Cosmic Hearse' and about their new creation they are working on, amongst other things, just don't expect to find out what their cool and unusual name means!...

For those not familiar, can you tell us a bit about your band name?

I’d love to – but the guy I started the band with came up with it – just never told me where it came from or what it meant – I’m still struggling to say it right to be honest – any ideas?


You have a unique metal sound, how would you best describe your music?

Unique? Praise indeed – thanks! An erstwhile manager once described it as tough lift music – that’ll probably do.


You have built up quite the reputation for your live shows, what makes them stand out and what can fans expect from them?

There’s that Cult song – Heart and Soul I think it’s called – the guy sings “You’ve gotta bleed while you sing” – ditto, drum, hit keys, play guitar and bass”. We give all we’ve got when we play – heart, spirit, soul, guts, brains – all worn on our collective sleeve. It can get messy!


What have been some of your personal highlights whilst touring?

Hitting high, powerful notes, feeling as if you’re almost physically and definitely metaphorically moving people – when you get it right, there’s no feeling like it apart from good sex. Seriously, it’s like becoming the conduit for what feels like some divine energy. Pretentious, moi?


So bizarrely a while back you done a collaboration with one of the biggest rappers of all time: Eminem, what was it like working with him in the early days and how did this come to happen?

I guess it was bizarre – we were recording with a guy called Greg Brimson, who’s worked with some pretty big bands in his time. I think we were doing a demo for Universal or Cleopatra or someone – anyway, we got a call a few weeks later from Greg, who said Eminem and one of his D12 homies, Royce da Five Nine, wanted to use the music from one of the songs, No Control, for a guitar version of one of their tunes – a rap called Nuttin’ to Do. It did come out as a single, under the name Bad Meets Evil, but it was all arranged through middle men. I never met Eminem – though I had some, shall we say, interesting conversations with his lawyers and Royce himself – heavy dudes.


Your 2010 EP, the critically acclaimed ‘Cosmic Hearse’ helped to define your sound as a band, how happy are you with the response it had?

Touched and overwhelmed, to be honest. The title track especially – in fact, all the songs on that EP, have really got that wow factor – singing them is a quasi-erotic experience. When people got it – yeah, it was tremendously satisfying and validating.


So you’re currently working on your upcoming new EP, how did you think this will compare to ‘Cosmic Hearse’ or is it too early to say?

The same but different. That’s to say, I think all the usual Maxdmyz elements will be in place – aggression, melody, catchiness, groove, moodiness, dark humour, an obsession with loss and death and mental illness – but the personalities of the band’s newer members, in terms of writing and performance, will be in evidence, I’m as intrigued as anyone to hear exactly what’s going to emerge. Perhaps it’s going to be more wistful and elegiac than before – and weirdly uplifting – because we’re all cheery chaps really – the music is the mantra which enables us to maintain some form of sanity.



How do you find the recording and writing process, what are the best and worst parts of this?

I love writing – it’s the essence of the creative process – when a line of lyrics comes to you, or a riff. I also really enjoy jamming – and suddenly a band member does something memorable or that really gets you and draws the heart and ear – in many ways it doesn’t get better than that. As for recording, well this is the perspiration bit – it’s more about craft and technicality – and it’s really cool getting down a definitive version of what you’re trying to get across in a song. The worse bits are the very rare occasions where I struggle for the right lyric – as for recording, interminable hours of mixing – it has to be done but it can be a real drag.

As a band you have an interesting mix of influences that help to create your signature music, what currently are your biggest influences both musically and creatively?

I tend not to be inspired by music per se – but by the emotions it produces in me. Then comes the urge to write something that communicates my own emotions to other people – these emotions can come in reaction to a particular person or event or experience, or reading something or even an artwork in some gallery – I’m a creative omnivore – anything can spur me on to write a song.

You recently joined with Pure Power Darkside Management, how is it going so far?

It’s going very well. Andy, our main contact there, is super nice and on it – it’s early days yet – but it’s already proving to be a productive relationship.

What are some of the proudest milestones for you as a band and what do you hope to achieve in the future?

I think our first release, Muthablud, and Cosmic Hearse. Also certain gigs stand out – at the Electric Ballroom in London where I nearly had my head lopped off with a chainsaw, playing Torture Garden New York, where I was attacked by a frenzied TV after accidentally chucking a TV at him, playing downstairs at the Garage, where I destroyed fifty computer monitors with a machete, pick axe, baseball hat and sledge hammer, and narrowly avoiding prosecution for public indecency at the Underworld after a torrid session of cunnilingus.

What other plans do Maxdymz have for 2016?

I’m looking forward to some great gigs coming up, and also to releasing the new EP of course (working title, Alchemical Metal). Highlights are an industrial night we’re playing in Lille, France, on 8 October and Club Antichrist on 11 November in London. We’re also down to play the Everyone United all-dayer at the Devonshire Arms in Camden later in July (details are yet to be finalised, and it’s still at the planning stage, but I sincerely hope it goes ahead). It’s to celebrate the contributions of EU citizens and foreigners in general without whom metal and alternative culture in the UK simply wouldn’t exist –as musicians, promoters, photographers or whatever, their input is phenomenal. It’s just something that people wanted to do in the wake of Brexit. Everyone is welcome regardless of how they voted or did not vote for that matter and it’s free. There were people who wanted to leave the EU who are clearly not xenophobes – I think they voted wrong, as I’m a supra-nationalist, believe in the free movement of people and can’t wait for the withering of the nation state, but I’m also a pragmatist and that ain’t gonna happen anytime soon. That’s why the event is called what it’s called – together we have a chance of standing, divided we definitely fall.








Official website: www.maxdmyz.uk
Go to www.maxdmyz.bandcamp.com to buy our music
www.youtube.com/user/maxdmyzofficial
www.cdbaby.com/artist/maxdmyz


http://maxdmyz.bandcamp.com/

Tuesday, 12 July 2016

Azucar Acida - El Blah Blah Blah Oficial (Single Review)



Azucar Acida | El Blah Blah Blah Oficial




Are you looking for some light-hearted and strange music to escape the depressing reality of humanity?! Look no further, Panamanian pop rockers, Azucar Acida who formed last year have you covered,  by injecting some humorous music and compelling visuals in one shot with their debut release, titled, 'El Blah Blah Blah Oficial'. As you can probably fathom from the name, it doesn't take itself too seriously, and is highlighting the funny side of arguments. We are all tempted to respond with "Blah Blah" at times, and Azucar Acida do just that in this upbeat and bizarrely satisfying offering. The video is well produced and in perfect sync with the song for maximum effect, and the whole concept works weirdly well. The chorus really makes the song, with its straight forward simpleness that everyone can blast out and join in with. So forget your troubles and embrace the attitude of 'El Blah Blah Blah Oficial'! Arguments aren't fun, but this song certainly is!





Check out the video in question:





To keep an eye on what they decide to do next:



Website: www.azucaracida.com

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzIQvr6JhWE

cdbaby: http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/azucaracida purchase link